Friday, December 16, 2011
Is it the X factor or the Fake Factor?
Well, just a few minutes ago, on the ad break I had a thought: Those people who say X factor is all manufactured pop, who I used to disagree with, are actually right? I mean, year after year it churns out popstars, some talented some not, but it is actually quite shallow if you look at it. I mean, last week at the judges houses all the young, good looking, and supposedly "unique and quirky" acts got through, and the "boring" but very talented ones did not? Last year, all the acts were under 30, and most were still about 17-18-19. This year, if it's not "good looking and current" boys then it's "unique" (ie the same as all the other people who try to be different but don't succeed) people or quivering wrecks who fluff their auditions. And the talent? Practically non-existent, with a few exceptions. The world does not need another boyband, floral-jumpsuit-wearing-pearl-strung "quirky gal" or Disney-popstar-gone-all-grown-up wannabe, so why does the line up consist of mostly that? At least there is no ageism this year, with some of the acts *almost reaching 50!* Oh my GOSH, how ancient! (not. I was being sarcastic). And why is it all about the acts needing to be "current"? What's wrong with clic styles? What if we actually want another rock or ballad star? What if we don't really feel the need for a carbon copy of former contestants and other pop stars? Also, the dramatizing of everything. Stupid sob stories, waiting about 3 hours for the winner to be announced, dumb ballads about long and hard journeys getting Xmas number 1. And all this crapola when they go home to tell their family the good news about making the live shows. The family sitting tensely on the sofa, when they know the news, because we saw them phone home at the judges houses. Do they think we are THICK? And don't get me started on last years "I'll leave it to the public vote" fiasco! Any way, the point is I'm sick of genuine and talented singers getting dumped for arrogant "I'll-be-bigger-than-so-and-so" fake, shallow wannabes. Anyone agree that this show proves it's just not about the music any more?
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment